It’s Just Like MacBeth

It was sort of like MacBeth, thought Fat Charlie, an hour later; in fact, if the witches in MacBeth had been four little old ladies and if, instead of stirring cauldrons and intoning dread incantations, they had just welcomed MacBeth in and fed him turkey and rice and peas spread out on a white tablecloth– not to mention sweet potato pudding and spicy cabbage– and encouraged him to take second helpings, and thirds, and then, when MacBeth had declaimed that nay, he was stuffed nigh unto bursting and on his oath could truly eat no more, the witches had pressed upon him their own special island rice pudding and a large slice of Mrs. Bustamonte’s famous pineapple upside-down cake, it would have been exactly like MacBeth.

from Anansi Boys, by Neil Gaiman

11 responses

  1. Another new book? Love the excerpt.

  2. New to me. I only recently discovered Neil Gaiman. Wonderful writing.

    One good thing about coming late to the party, no need to wait for his next book. I have lots of backlist to enjoy.

  3. i have yet to read this one.
    i have a particularly fondness for ‘smoke and mirrors’, but then i adore short stories over novels any day!

  4. Chris, are you a Charles DeLint fan? If you like Gaiman, you’ll like DeLint. DeLint writes wonderful short stories, too.

    1. nope jaye, cant say i’ve come across him. i shall put him on my acquisition list. any particular recommendations? x

      1. Start with DeLint’s short story collection, Muse and Reverie.

        There is a book by another writer, Steven Brust, I recommend to all my writer friends. The Sun, the Moon and the Stars. It’s actually about artists, but it says so much about creative process and what it means to be an artist, it really speaks to me. I bet it would speak to you, too.

      2. thanks for the pointers. both are now on my post-christmas shopping list.

  5. One of my favorite books! Lots of people say AMERICAN GODS is Gaiman’s best, but I adore the lighter tone of ANANSI BOYS.

  6. I recently read AMERICAN GODS, and I loved it. I honestly don’t know if I could pick a favorite. I recently read STARDUST, too, which utterly charmed me. He’s currently my author to glom.

  7. I got hooked by Neverwhere. No turning back. Try the Sandman graphic novels, if you get a chance.

  8. You count on that, Marie. I am definitely hooked.

Leave a Reply

