Just Like Two Birthdays in One Year: Wendig and Correia

For my birthday last month I was gifted with Barnes & Noble and Amazon gift cards. Friends and family know me so well. The trip to the B&N resulted in some fine booty– soft covers from Neil Gaiman, Stuart MacBride and Steven Brust. It also, unfortunately turned out to be the very last shopping excursion to a B&N I will ever make. Pooh. Bummer.

Much more fun was going nuts filling up my Kindle via Amazon. Two of the books I wanted were printed versions and their release dates were the first and fifteenth of November. So I had to show some restraint. So those went on my Wish List and I marked my calendar. Okay, so I showed enough restraint that I actually had six bucks and change left on my gift cards toward today’s purchases. Oh well. It still feels like my birthday all over again to have ordered Chuck Wendig’s, Double Dead.

Will I be gushing about this book in posts to come? I do not know. I love Wendig’s blog, terrible minds, and I have all his very funny, quite profane, and extremely inspiring books about writing, but the only fiction of his I’ve read so far is Shotgun Gravy, which was very good. I have a suspicion that Double Dead is going to push Wendig onto my very favorite authors list. Will let you know.

The book I know I’ll be gushing about is Larry Correia’s, Spellbound: Book II of the Grimnoir Chronicles. The first book in the series, Hard Magic, was… magical. It’s fantasy and steampunk and full of action and adventure and heroics. Knowing Correia, Spellbound is going to be all that and more. So be prepared, much gushing to come.

And now I have to wait for the box to arrive from Amazon. You know what, I bet that will feel like birthday number three.

 

3 responses

  1. Oh yeah, baby. Just got the notice that Amazon has SHIPPED my order. I should have my books by Monday. I think I shall bake a cake.

  2. Okay, I want reviews, girlfriend, reviews!

  3. Count on it, Julia. Have you tried Correia’s Monster Hunter books? Lots of guns and monsters, but there’s a really wonderful romance threading through the books that appeals very much to my girlie side. I guarantee you’ll like them.

Leave a Reply

